Elisso Virsaladze Piano Recital
Music | Georgia
Elisso Virsaladze Piano Recital
Music | Georgia

Elisso Virsaladze Piano Recital


One click to discover whether your friends have added the same event on Timeline.

To turn on the list, toggle the button at the top right corner.

Other users cannot see you unless you turn it on.

You are way ahead of everyone. Get your friends interested!

Recommend this

My friends

No friends here? Get them interested in this programme!

Recommend this


Show More


Select My 1st Choice

Amount :HK$ --
Amount :HK$ --
(Max Amount :HK$ --)

Accept other price categories / preferred sections if 1st and 2nd choices are fully booked.
Accept Standard Tickets if Student Tickets in 1st and 2nd choices are fully booked.
Accept Standard Tickets if Tickets for People with Disabilities in 1st and 2nd choices are fully booked.

“An unforgettable Schumannist, perhaps the greatest woman pianist of our time.”
Sviatoslav Richter

An artist of great distinction


Elisso Virsaladze plays with unhurried grace and charm. Her Schumann and Schubert are of exceptional beauty – and her Brahms and Liszt stunning, the fine playing displays exquisite control and a rich tone.

Elisso Virsaladze shot to fame when she won third prize at the Moscow International Tchaikovsky Competition in 1962. She was just 20. Four years later she won the Schumann Competition in Germany. Her distinguished career as an international recitalist, chamber musician, and soloist with the world’s great orchestras under such conductors as Muti, Sanderling, Sawallisch and Svetlanov stretches over more than half a century. In her eighth decade, she is busier than ever; performing, giving master-classes and serving on the jury at many of the world’s most prestigious music competitions. In addition to being honoured “People’s Artist of the USSR”, the highest artistic award in Russia, her many recordings reveal the vibrant musical personality of an exceptional artist.

Festival concert-goers have the rare chance to experience the magic of Virsaladze’s playing in both a concert with the outstanding David Oistrakh Quartet and in a solo recital featuring her signature Schumann repertoire. A special highlight of the Festival.


Arabeske in C major, Op 18

Sonata in A major, D664, Op 120* 

Sonata in D minor, No 2, Op 14*

Fantasiestücke, Op 12

Widmung from Myrthen, S566

Rhapsody Espagnole, S254

*Programme Changes:
- Schubert's Sonata in B-flat major, D960, which was included in the original programme, has been changed to Sonata in A major, D664, Op 120 by the same composer.
- Prokofiev's Sonata in D minor, No 2, Op 14, has been newly added in the programme.