In view of the reopening of performing venues on 19 February, the Hong Kong Arts Festival announces changes to in-venue programmes. Please visit this page for details.
Making history as the youngest conductor appointed by the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra (SPO), multiple competition prizewinner Wilson Ng will illustrate his electrifying interpretation of twentieth century repertoire in two virtuosic orchestral showpieces by Hindemith and Blacher. The concert also features International Chopin Piano Competition laureate Dong-Hyek Lim in Scriabin’s Piano Concerto.

Wilson Ng and the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra


Select My 1st Choice

Amount :HK$ --
Amount :HK$ --
(Max Amount :HK$ --)

Accept other price categories / preferred sections if 1st and 2nd choices are fully booked.
Accept Standard Tickets if Student Tickets in 1st and 2nd choices are fully booked.
Accept Standard Tickets if Tickets for People with Disabilities in 1st and 2nd choices are fully booked.

Award-winning Hong Kong conductor Wilson Ng
in homecoming performance with the Seoul Philharmonic

Last featured as flute soloist at the 2013 Hong Kong Arts Festival, Wilson Ng is set to make a glorious return as the associate conductor of the Seoul Philharmonic (SPO). A laureate of the Mahler (Bamberg) and Sir Georg Solti (Frankfurt) competitions, among others, Ng made history when he became the youngest-ever conductor of the SPO, the first Asian orchestra to land an exclusive contract with Deutsche Grammophon.

Lauded for his robust and electrifying interpretation of the 20th-century repertoire, Ng will perform with the Moscow-trained and Berlin-based award-winning pianist Dong-Hyek Lim in Scriabin’s Piano Concerto in F minor. Other highlights of the programme include Hindemith’s Mathis de Mahler, an iridescent orchestral triptych inspired by Grünewald’s Isenheim Altarpiece, as well as Blacher’s Paganini Variations, a signature work of the composer and a meticulously crafted “concerto” for orchestra in all but name.
Orchestral Variations on a Theme by Paganini, Op 26

Piano Concerto in F-sharp minor, Op 20
Piano: Dong-hyek Lim 

Mathis der Maler Symphony

Conductor: Wilson Ng

Approx 1 hour 20 minutes

Read the House Programme